On Wednesday, April 1, 2009, the state-level winners of the 2009 “Jugend forscht” (Young Researchers) competition received their awards from Secretary of Education Bernward Müller. Julia Münzner (17) and Patrick Wohlfahrt (18), who both carried out their work at the Institute of Photonic Technology (IPHT), were among the 16 young scientists from Thuringia who qualified for the 44th national competition of “Jugend forscht.”